Find a team or regional competition near you!

Regional High School Ethics Bowl Competitions also known as “Regionals” or “Regional Bowls” are run under the auspices of the NHSEB and take place across North America. Teams are required to participate in a Regional closest to their high school’s geographical area. For more information about a Regional Bowl, please contact the organizer(s) listed below. If there is not already a Regional in your area, please contact Dominique Dery.

The 2017-2018 NHSEB season will begin on September 5, 2017 with the release of the 2017-2018 Rules & Procedures and Regional Case Set, and conclude on February 4, 2018. The 2018 Nationals will take place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on April 20-22, 2018.

ARKANSAS

Arkansas High School Ethics Bowl * 
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Michael Norton: mbnorton@ualr.edu

CALIFORNIA

Northern California High School Ethics Bowl * January 13, 2018
***Registration now closed for this event. Please contact the organizer for other possible opportunities!

University of California – Santa Cruz
Kyle Robertson: kxrobert@ucsc.edu

Southern California High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
Chapman University
Nancy Martin: nmartin@chapman.edu

COLORADO

Colorado High School Ethics Bowl *
Center for Values and Social Policy, University of Colorado at Boulder
David Boonin: david.boonin@colorado.edu

CONNECTICUT

Connecticut High School Ethics Bowl * January 27, 2018
Yale University
Austen Hall: austen.hall@yale.edu
Mario Attie: mario.attie@yale.edu

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

District of Columbia High School Ethics Bowl * January 20, 2018
American University
dcethicsbowl@gmail.com
Gina Lebkuecher: gl6795a@american.edu
Cameron Bassiri: bassiri@american.edu

FLORIDA

Palm Beach County High School Ethics Bowl * 
Palm Beach County Schools, Palm Beach State College Center for Applied Ethics
Joe Holcombe: joseph.holcombe@palmbeachschools.org

Pinellas County High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
St. Petersburg College
PCHSEB@gmail.com

Southwest Florida High School Ethics Bowl * January 27, 2018
Florida SouthWestern State College
Russell H. Swanson: Russell.Swanson@fsw.edu

GEORGIA

If you are interested in hosting a regional competition or starting a team, please contact us.

ILLINOIS

Chicago High School Ethics Bowl * January 20, 2018
University of Chicago, Illinois Institute of Technology
Bart Schultz: rschultz@uchicago.edu
Kelly Laas: laas@iit.edu

Southern Illinois High School Ethics Bowl * January 27, 2018
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
Ash Mason: qmason@siue.edu

INDIANA

Indiana High School Ethics Bowl * February 3rd, 2018
The Prindle Institute for Ethics at DePauw University
Andy Cullison: andycullison@depauw.edu
Tonya Welker: tonyawelker@depauw.edu

MARYLAND

Maryland High School Ethics Bowl
University of Baltimore, Hoffberger Center for Professional Ethics
Fred Guy: aguy@ubalt.edu
Cindy Myers: cmyers@ubalt.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

New England (Boston) High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
Tufts University
Susan Russinoff: susan.russinoff@tufts.edu

MICHIGAN

Michigan High School Ethics Bowl * February 18-19, 2018
A2Ethics, University of Michigan
Jeanine DeLay: jadelay@umich.edu
Zoe Johnson King: zoejk@umich.edu
Caroline Perry: ceperry@umich.edu

MISSOURI

Missouri High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
Columbia College
Dustin Nelson: ds.nelson399@gmail.com
Mark Price: mlprice@ccis.edu

NEBRASKA

Nebraska High School Ethics Bowl * 
University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Robert J. Kutak Center for the Teaching and Study of Applied Ethics
Adam Thompson: adamrosst@gmail.com

NEW JERSEY

New Jersey High School Ethics Bowl * December 9, 2017
Stevens Institute of Technology
Michael Steinmann: Michael.steinmann@stevens.edu

NEW YORK

Long Island High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
Hofstra University
Roberta Israeloff: risraeloff@squirefoundation.org

New York City High School Ethics Bowl * January 27, 2018
NYU
ethicsbowlnyc@gmail.com
Ariel Sykes: arielsykes87@gmail.com
@ethicsbowlnyc

Manhattanville College High School Ethics Bowl *
Manhattanville College
Abbi Parenteau: parenteaua@student.mville.edu
Siobhan Nash Marshall: siobhan.nashmarshall@mville.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina High School Ethics Bowl * January 20, 2018
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Dominique Dery: dkldery@email.unc.edu

OHIO

Ohio High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
University of Findlay
Matt Stolick: stolick@findlay.edu

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma High School Ethics Bowl * 
SEED Foundation, University of Oklahoma
Colin Schoonover: Colin.Schoonover@onegas.com
Shannon Warren: warrenokla@cox.net
Wayne Riggs: wriggs@ou.edu

OREGON

Oregon High School Ethics Bowl * February 9 & 10, 2018
Portland State University
Alex Sager: asager@pdx.edu
David Weber: dweber@pdx.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Delaware Valley High School Ethics Bowl * November 18, 2017
Villanova University
Mark Doorley: mark.doorley@villanova.edu

RHODE ISLAND

Rhode Island High School Ethics Bowl * January 21, 2018
Brown University
Galen Rebecca McNemar Hamann: Ghamann@mosesbrown.org
Dave Estlund: david_estlund@brown.edu

TENNESSEE

Tennessee High School Ethics Bowl * 
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Alex Feldt: thseb@utk.edu

Southern Appalachia High School Ethics Bowl * 
East Tennessee State University
David Harker: harkerd@mail.etsu.edu
Allen Coates: coatesa@etsu.edu

TEXAS

Houston High School Ethics Bowl * 
Rice University
Adam Valenstein: valenstein@gmail.com
Jamale Nagi, jamalenagi@gmail.com
Kayla Rainey Rainey: Kayla Ann kayla.a.rainey@rice.edu

UT Tyler High School Ethics Bowl * January 31, 2018
University of Texas at Tyler
Greg Bock: gbock@uttyler.edu

UTAH

Utah High School Ethics Bowl * January 27, 2018
Utah Valley University
Jeff Nielsen: NIELSJEF@uvu.edu
Weber State University
Rachel Robison-Greene: rachelrobison@weber.edu
***Please contact both organizers if interested in participating

VIRGINIA

Virginia High School Ethics Bowl * 
Collegiate School
Rhiannon Boyd: rhiannon_boyd@collegiate-va.org

WASHINGTON

Washington State High School Ethics Bowl * February 3, 2018
Center for Philosophy for Children, University of Washington, Seattle
Jana Mohr Lone: mohrlone@uw.edu

International*

CANADA

Manitoba High School Ethics Bowl 
Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, University of Manitoba Ethics Center, Winnipeg
Estelle Lamoureux: elamoureux@shaw.ca
Mark Rosner: Mark.Rosner@umanitoba.ca

 

GREAT BRITAIN

John Stuart Mill Cup
University of St. Andrews’ Centre for Philosophy, Ethics, and Public Affairs
For more information, click here!

*These are not part of the NHSEB but are inspired by and modeled on it.