Find a team or regional competition near you! 

Regional High School Ethics Bowl Competitions also known as “Regionals” or “Regional Bowls” are organized independently by volunteer organizers across the U.S. with the guidance and permission of the NHSEB. Teams are required to participate in a Regional closest to their high school’s location. For more information about how to join a Regional Bowl, please contact all organizers listed for yours below. If there is not already a Regional in your area, please contact ethicsbowl@unc.edu.

The 2018-2019 NHSEB season will begin on September 7, 2018 with the release of the 2018-2019 Rules & Procedures, the Regional Case Set, and NHSEB online registration form for schools. The season will conclude on February 4, 2019. The 2019 Nationals will take place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on April 5-7, 2019.

ARKANSAS

Arkansas High School Ethics Bowl * 
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Michael Norton: mbnorton@ualr.edu

CALIFORNIA

Northern California High School Ethics Bowl * January 12, 2019
University of California – Santa Cruz
Kyle Robertson: kxrobert@ucsc.edu

Southern California High School Ethics Bowl * 
Chapman University
Nancy Martin: nmartin@chapman.edu

COLORADO

Colorado High School Ethics Bowl * 
Center for Values and Social Policy, University of Colorado at Boulder
David Boonin: david.boonin@colorado.edu

CONNECTICUT

Connecticut High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
University of Connecticut Philosophy, with assistance from Yale University
Mitch Green: mitchell.green@uconn.edu
Emma Bjorngard: emma.bjorngard@uconn.edu 

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

District of Columbia High School Ethics Bowl * 
American University
dcethicsbowl@gmail.com
Gina Lebkuecher: gl6795a@american.edu
Cameron Bassiri: bassiri@american.edu

FLORIDA

North Florida (First Coast) High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
University of North Florida, Jacksonville
Jonathan Matheson: j.matheson@unf.edu

Palm Beach County High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
Palm Beach County Schools, Palm Beach State College Center for Applied Ethics
Joe Holcombe: joseph.holcombe@palmbeachschools.org

Pinellas County High School Ethics Bowl * December 15, 2018
St. Petersburg College, Clearwater Campus
PCHSEB@gmail.com

Southwest Florida High School Ethics Bowl * January 19, 2019
Florida SouthWestern State College
Russell H. Swanson: Russell.Swanson@fsw.edu

GEORGIA

Georgia High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
University of West Georgia, Carrollton GA
Walter Riker: wriker@westga.edu

ILLINOIS

Chicago High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
University of Chicago, Illinois Institute of Technology
Bart Schultz: rschultz@uchicago.edu
Kelly Laas: laas@iit.edu

Southern Illinois High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
Erik Krag: ekrag@siue.edu
Nicholas Haley: nhaley@siue.edu
Ash Mason: qmason@siue.edu

INDIANA

Indiana High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
The Prindle Institute for Ethics at DePauw University
Andy Cullison: andycullison@depauw.edu
Emily Knuth: eknuth@depauw.edu

MARYLAND

Maryland High School Ethics Bowl
University of Baltimore, Hoffberger Center for Professional Ethics
Fred Guy: aguy@ubalt.edu
Cindy Myers: cmyers@ubalt.edu

MASSACHUSETTS

New England (Boston) High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
Tufts University
Susan Russinoff: susan.russinoff@tufts.edu

MICHIGAN

Michigan High School Ethics Bowl * February 2-3, 2019
A2Ethics, University of Michigan
Jeanine DeLay: jadelay@umich.edu

MISSOURI

Missouri High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
Columbia College
Mark Price: mlprice@ccis.edu
Kim Craig: kgcraig1@ccis.edu
Dustin Nelson: ds.nelson399@gmail.com

NEBRASKA

Nebraska High School Ethics Bowl * January 19, 2019
University of Nebraska – Omaha
Laura Grams: lgrams@unomaha.edu

NEW JERSEY

New Jersey High School Ethics Bowl * December 8, 2018
Stevens Institute of Technology
Michael Steinmann: Michael.steinmann@stevens.edu

NEW YORK

Long Island High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
Hofstra University
Roberta Israeloff: risraeloff@squirefoundation.org

New York City High School Ethics Bowl * 
ethicsbowlnyc@gmail.com
Ariel Sykes: arielsykes87@gmail.com
@ethicsbowlnyc

Manhattanville College High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
Manhattanville College
Etta Griffiths: griffithsh@student.mville.edu
Paul Kucharski: paul.kucharski@mville.edu
Siobhan Nash Marshall: siobhan.nashmarshall@mville.edu

NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Dominique Dery: ethicsbowl@unc.edu

OHIO

Ohio High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
University of Findlay
Matt Stolick: stolick@findlay.edu

OKLAHOMA

Oklahoma High School Ethics Bowl * 
SEED Foundation, University of Oklahoma
Colin Schoonover: prez@studentethicsbowl.org
Shannon Hiebert: Shannon.r.hiebert@ehi.com
Wayne Riggs: wriggs@ou.edu

OREGON

Oregon High School Ethics Bowl * February 9, 2019
Portland State University
Alex Sager: asager@pdx.edu
David Weber: dweber@pdx.edu

PENNSYLVANIA

Delaware Valley High School Ethics Bowl * November 17, 2018
Villanova University
Mark Doorley: mark.doorley@villanova.edu

RHODE ISLAND

Rhode Island High School Ethics Bowl
Brown University
Dave Estlund: david_estlund@brown.edu
RI Ethics Bowl Planning Committee: riethicsbowl@gmail.com

SOUTH CAROLINA

South Carolina High School Ethics Bowl * January 26, 2019
Wofford College, Spartanburg
Steven Michelman: MichelmanSA@wofford.edu
Mary Helen Wade: mhd.wade@gmail.com

TENNESSEE

Tennessee High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Alex Feldt: thseb@utk.edu

TEXAS

Houston High School Ethics Bowl * February 2, 2019
Rice University
Vida Yao: vyao@rice.edu
Jamale Nagi: jamalenagi@gmail.com

UT Tyler High School Ethics Bowl *
University of Texas at Tyler
Tammy Cowart: tcowart@uttyler.edu
Mychele Hughes: mhughes@uttyler.edu

UTAH

Utah High School Ethics Bowl *
Westminster College
Michael Popich: mpopich@westminstercollege.edu
Jeff Nielsen: NIELSJEF@uvu.edu

VIRGINIA

Virginia High School Ethics Bowl * 
Collegiate School
Rhiannon Boyd: rhiannon_boyd@collegiate-va.org

WASHINGTON

Washington State High School Ethics Bowl
Center for Philosophy for Children, University of Washington, Seattle
Jana Mohr Lone: mohrlone@uw.edu

International*

CANADA

Manitoba High School Ethics Bowl 
Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, University of Manitoba Ethics Center, Winnipeg
Estelle Lamoureux: elamoureux@shaw.ca
Mark Rosner: Mark.Rosner@umanitoba.ca

GREAT BRITAIN

John Stuart Mill Cup
University of St. Andrews’ Centre for Philosophy, Ethics, and Public Affairs
For more information, click here!

*These are not part of the NHSEB but are inspired by and directly modeled on it.