Students from across the United States came to UNC-CH to discuss complex and timely ethical dilemmas in the 6th annual event!

Visit the National High School Ethics Bowl and Parr Center for Ethics Facebook pages to see photos and updates from throughout the weekend!

(Chapel Hill, N.C. – April 24, 2018) – Congratulations to Kent Place School from Summit, NJ, for winning the 2018 National High School Ethics Bowl! They were followed by Stanford Online High School, from Stanford, CA, in 2nd place; Glendora High School, from Glendora, CA, in 3rd place; and Maryville High School, from Maryville, TN, in 4th place.

The Bob Ladenson Spirit of the Ethics Bowl Award is awarded to the team that best embodies respect, civility, thoughtfulness, and collaboration, as voted by the teams themselves. This year we had a tie for three winners! Gregorio Luperon High School, from NYC, Herron High School from Indianapolis, IN, and Tatum High School, from Tatum, TX shared the honor as voted by their peers.

This is the largest National High School Ethics Bowl to date: 480 teams representing 335 schools participated in 33 regionals across the United States from September to March, reaching almost 5000 high school students, for their chance to compete in the national championship.

Hosted by The Parr Center for Ethics in UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences, students spent the weekend exercising their philosophical and ethical muscles as they analyzed timely and complex ethical dilemmas. Cases and questions are developed under the guidance of the Parr Center and cover a broad range of topics including doxing, Confederate monuments, online dating, no fly lists, and the Electoral College.

The performance of each team is judged on the basis of how clearly, articulately, and perceptively the students develop the positions they decide to take; their ability to communicate respectfully and collaboratively; and their willingness to take diverse viewpoints into account.

The National High School Ethics Bowl is supported by the Parr Center for Ethics, Marc Sanders Foundation, Fenwick Foundation, Howell Family Charitable Foundation, UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences, UNC’s Office of Undergraduate Admissions, UNC’s Department of Philosophy, and the American Philosophical Association.

The 24 high schools that qualified for and competed in the 2018 National High School Ethics Bowl are Little Rock Central High School, Little Rock, AR; Stanford Online High School, Stanford, CA; Glendora High School, Glendora, CA; Peak to Peak Charter School, Lafayette, CO; Choate Rosemary Hall, Wallingford, CT; School Without Walls, Washington, D.C.; Marco Island Academy, Marco Island, FL; Herron High School, Indianapolis, IN; Gerstell Academy, Finksburg, MD; Wayne Memorial High School, Wayne, MI; David H. Hickman High School, Columbia, MO; Kent Place School, Summit, NJ; The Stony Brook School, Stony Brook, NY; Gregorio Luperón High School for Math & Science, NY, NY; Fairfield College Preparatory School, Fairfield, CT; North Carolina School of Science & Mathematics, Durham, NC; Norman North High School, Norman, OK; Jesuit High School, Portland, OR; Conestoga High School, Berwyn, PA; Maryville High School, Maryville, TN; The John Cooper School, The Woodlands, TX; Tatum High School, Tatum, TX; James River High School, Midlothian, VA; and Seattle Academy of Arts and Sciences, Seattle, WA.

For more information, please visit or, or email Dominique Dery at

Comments are closed.